Resetting a router is a simple (ad serious) task and is widely used for several reasons. The most common of them is the need of restoring the original factory settings. This is used when a user forgets the router’s password or when an advanced configuration was changed and the router stops to work as before.
If you already tried to login to your network router it is very likely that you already had to reset the router in order to be able to use the default login credentials. This article will explain the difference between resetting and rebooting your router and also how to perform these two procedures.
Reset or Reboot?
Resetting a router is the procedure of restoring the router settings to the original factory state. When you reset the router, all the configurations are changed back to the same state they were when the router was first configured still in the factory end of line.
Rebooting a router is the procedure of restarting the device, usually recycling the power on it. When you perform this action, the wifi connection will drop while the router is turned off, but after it starts again the network will work fine again and all the router and network settings will be the same as before.
Restore original factory state (resetting)
If you are thinking about resetting your router, be aware that although this is a very simple task, it is a serious change on your network router settings. After resetting, a lot of information and configurations will be lost, including:
- Router login credentials
- Wi-Fi security information like password and name
- ISP username and password
- Firewall and portforwards that you may have configured
All the configuration you changed since you installed the router will be lost after resetting. So be sure to have all the actual settings written down in case you want to bring them back after resetting.
Given the warning. The steps to perform a reset operation are the following:
- Press the reset button on the router.
- Hold on the button for more than ten seconds.
- Observe the leds blinking of the router. While resetting they will probably blink in a specific frequency. Have your manual by your side to verify if the pattern is correct.
- After releasing the button, the router will be restored to its original configuration.
Rebooting the router is not as serious as resetting it. After you reboot/restart the router, there is no lost of previous configurations and settings. The only unusual event is that the network will drop for some moments and will be restarted.
The most common way to reboot the router is to unplug it from the energy and wait for some seconds. If you press the reset button but hold it for a short time, the router usually is only rebooted also. But it is not recommended to reboot using the reset button. In order to ensure you will not lose any settings you did, just deenergize the router and wait for a while, and then energize it again.
In case there are other people using the wifi network, you should warn them you are rebooting the router. The connection will drop while rebooting and you don’t want to be the guy who made a colleague lose his work due to an unexpected connection loss, right?